Department of physics  

Phone No.: 040-27682378

The Department was established in the year 1929.  In the starting period the classes were being held in the premises of University College of Science, O.U.Hyderabad-500007. In 1963 the Department was shifted to the present premises and the laboratory was developed slowly.

 In those days the duration of B.E. Course was of 5 years.  Both theory and practical courses were offered in I year and II year also.  Later the duration of B.E. course was reduced to 4 years and Physics course was offered in I year only.

However, the department has been constantly revising the contents of the theory and practical (laboratory) syllabi. And recently new topics like Vacuum technology, Thin films, Spectroscopy and Nanomaterials were introduced.

In the laboratory a system of continuous assessment has been introduced with the faculty spending all the time discussing various aspects of experiment with students.  Latest experiments like solar cell, Hall Effect, Laser, fiber Optics, T.E.P, Dielectric Constant, Michelson Interferometer, E.S.R were introduced.

As the ancient Greek philosopher as well as teacher, Pluto has quoted, “If a student is to learn effectively the class room and surroundings should be pleasant”.  So the premises of basic sciences have been made the surroundings more pleasant for students who learn with us.

To reinforce what they had learnt and also to teach them better communication skills, each student is required to give two seminars on laboratory experiment in a year.  The students are required to submit assignments, which are designed to inculcate the habit of critical thinking in them.