The Department has been engaged in research and consultancy projects. It received research grants from various government agencies such as AICTE; UGC, DST, TEQIP (Phase I & II) etc., The Department established a Biomedical Instrumentation centre (BMIC) to cater to the needs of medical profession. The B.E (BME) programme of the department has been assessed by the NBA Team of evaluators during October, 2012, and the results are waiting.  A special appreciation was given by the visiting expert team. The faculty members of the department are also active, effective and acknowledged contributors to UPE project of the UGC.
Faculty Achievements:

Sl No

Name of the Faculty



Dr. K.Satyanarayana

Mitigation of Cellular Phone Interfence in ECG during emergency patient Transportation in Cardiovascular Engineering and Technology, Springer.
Dr K.Satyanarayana has awarded Ph.d for “GPS and GPPS Based Telemonitoring systems for Emergency Patient Transportation.” Under the Guidance of Prof A.D.Sarma, Director,NERTU

  1. Satyanaryana K.,Sarma A.D., Sravan J.,  Malini M. and Venkateswarlu G.,  “GPS and GPRS based Telemonitoring system for Emergency Patient Transportation”, Journal of Medical Engineering, Hindawi, Volume 2013,
  2. V. Satya Srinivas, A.D. Sarma, K CT Swamy and K. Satyanarayana, “Performance Evaluation of IRI-2007 at Equatorial Latitudes and its Matlab Version for GNSS Applications”, Journal of Advanced Space Research, Elsevier (2013),
  3. Yedukndalu K., Sarma A.D., Ashwani Kumar and Satyanarayana K., “Spectral Analysis and Mitigation of GPS Multipath Error using Digital Filtering for Static Applications”, IETE Journal of Research, Volume 59, No.2, March-April 2013
  4. G.Venkateswarlu, A.D.Sarma, K.Satyanarayana and K.Yedukondalu, Characterization of Indian Ionospheric TEC Behaviour Using PDFs and GPS satellite Data, ICCSP_13 IEEE Conference, 03-04-2013 to 05-04-2013, Adhiparasakthi Engineering College, Melmarathur, Kanchipuram(Dist), Tamilnadu.
  5. Satyanarayana K, Sarma A.D, Naga Praveen P, Malini M and Krishna Reddy D, ”Mitigation of Cellular Phone Interference in ECG During Emergency Patient Transportation” Cardiovascular Engineering and Technology, Springer
  6. Naga Rajesh A., Chandralingam S., Anjaneyulu T. and Satyanarayana K., “Optimization of Stationary Wavelet Transformation Technique for Effective Processing of EOG Signal”, International Journal of Systems , Algorithms & Applications, Volume 3, Issue ICEEC13, June 2013, ISSN Online: 2277-2677
  7. V. Satya Srinivas, A.D. Sarma, Quddusa Sultana, Suneetha E and K Satyanarayana, “Performance Evaluation of Weighted Quasi-Optimal and Recursive Quasi-Optimal Satellite Selection Techniques for GNSS”, Communicated to Journal of Navigation.


Mr.M.Venkateswara  Rao

Guest Lecture on “Renewable Energy Sources “Lingaiah Engineering College, Vijayawada.


Dr. M. Malini

Technical Talk on “Recent Trends in Bio Medical Instrumentation and its Appllications during 27th July, 2013.
IETE, Organised by ISOI, Hyderabad chapter
Electroculography based Human-Computer Interface
Wireless Non Invasive Vital Sign Sensors with Multi Sensory Data Fusion.
Design and Development of driver alertness system based on the analysis of physiological signals.


Mr.D. Suman

Design and Development of driver alertness system based on the analysis of physiological signals.

Student Accomplishments:

  1. State Level Paper Presentation Competition conducted by NREDCAP in O.U., at TDC, received 1st Prize and a cash award of Rs.1000/-  Team Members :- Bhargava and Rohit.
  2. 1st Prize at National Level Technical Symposium Conducted at GMRIT, Rajam.

      Team Members:- Bhargava, Rohith and Sarvani
      2nd Prize at the same fest, Team Members :-  Nikitha and R.Santhosh.

3. National Level Technical Fest conducted by CMR Technical Campus, won Second Prize in paper presentation competition and Cash Prize of Rs.800/- 

Team Members:-Rohit and Bhargava.

4. Won 2nd Prize in creative writing competition conducted by Vignan Group of Institution, Prize money of Rs.500/- Name: B.K.Bharagava Rao.

5. Won 1st Prize in Robotics conducted by IIT Bombay, received cash prize of Rs.3.000/- Team Members: - B.K.Bharagava Rao,T.Rohith, G.Bhargavi, A.Sanath.

Won 1st Prize in Innovate (Idea Presentation) at the same event.
Team Members:- Bhargava,Sarvani,Bhargavi.

6. Our Final year Student named K.Nithya has attended 2 months Summer Research Fellowship Programme 2013 offered by Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore; during May-July 2013.

7. Aneesha Malagiri has attended “Neuroscience Summer School 2013”, held at IIT Delhi Organized by MIT and Harvard University.

8. Miss Ch.Sindura is provisionally selected for the admission to the M.A in Rural Development and Governance from Tata Institute of Social Science.

9.  Miss P.Kavitha has recruited as Junior Engineer in South Central Railway.

10. As part of UPE funding Department has accorded 2 posts for Research Fellowships.

11. Under UPE, department has got Rs.2 Lakhs Per Annum for research

Distinguished Alumni:

1.Surekha palreddy

                  President at Bio Algorithms, Inc., St. Paul, MN

2. Ravi Bellamkonda

                   Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology,

                   Associate Vice President for Research at Georgia Institute of Technology,
                   Carol Ann and David D. Fl...

3.Shailendra M

                   Sr.DGM at Larsen & Toubro Limited

4.Rajesh K Rapolu

                   MRI/CT Field Engineer at Radiographic Equipment Services 

5.Vineel Kumar

                   Senior Patent Analyst at Honeywell Technology Solutions
                   Bengaluru Area, India | Industrial Automation

6.Sridhar Narayan Porindla (Entrepreneur)

                   Consultant at SNC, Hyderabad

7.Pramod reddy byreeka

                   Founder & CEO,
                   Allatus Techno-Legal Solutions Pvt Ltd

8.Vasanth Kumar

                   Service Specialist at GE Healthcare Pvt ltd

9.Chaithanya Krishna Mummidisetty

                   Quality Engineer Internship


                   Head, Biomedical engineering division,
                   NIMS, Hyderabad

11.Mr.Aditya venkateshwara

                   Patent examiner, Indian patent office
                   DIIP, Govt.of India

12.Mr.Bal singh chauhan

                  Deputy director, Biomedical division
                  HLL lifecare Ltd, Govt, enterprise Trivandrum

13.Mr.Naveen kumar

                  Head- Intellectual Property Rights
                  Leges octavian LLC, Tarnaka, Hyderabad

14.Mr.Raghuvender Narra

                   Senior patent Engineer
                   Philips , IPR department, Bangalore

15.Aravind sawarkar

                   Senior IP analyst
                   Honeywell, IPR department, Bangalore.


                  Asst director at NPC group India

  1. Industry Institute Interaction: 

Department of BME in collaboration with Care hospitals has started an “Advanced PG fellowship in cardiac electrophysiology” on 30th July, 2013 at Rajbhavan. It was launched by Honorable former president of India Dr. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam in the presence of vice chancellor, Osmania University. As part of this, 5 M.E. students are selected for the project internship at Care hospitals under well known cardiologist Dr.Narshiman and Prof. A.K.Tiwari











Launch of Advanced PG Fellowship in |Cardiac Electrophysiology on 30th July, 2013